News:

Willkommen im Notebookcheck.com Forum! Hier können sie über alle unsere Artikel und allgemein über Notebook relevante Dinge disuktieren. Viel Spass!

Main Menu

Non-gamer seeking 17" gaming rig

Started by Robert Robb, April 23, 2020, 19:54:49

Previous topic - Next topic

Robert Robb

My current machine is an ASUS G73JH.  Yeah, you read that right.  I've been using it for 10 years and is doing pretty well for what I need (right now).  But, it's had issues and I'm finally fed up and done, plus I have the funds to splurge a little.

I would like to know if you are aware of any machines comparable to what I have found for both performance and price.

Right now, I have found these machines meeting all my musts, in order of most to least interesting, with their key differences.  If you have something equal / better at an equal / better price, please let me know.  MANY thanks   

HP Omen 17 = 144 Hz, i7-9750, RTX 2070, 512GB M.2 for $1650 on Walmart.com.

Alienware M17 = 60 Hz, 8750, RTX 2070 MaxQ, 512GB M.2 for $1500 on Amazon (but Renewed).

Lenovo Legion Y740 = 144 Hz, 9750, 2080 MaxQ, 1TB M.2 for $1800 on Amazon (by Lenovo).

Acer Predator Helios = 144 Hz, 9750, 2070 MaxQ, 512GB M.2, not sure about G-Sync for $1760 on Amazon (by Acer).

I haven't found anything with those specs near those prices for ACER (ConceptD), Gigabyte, XMG (Clevo), or Schenker.  No Razers because they don't have a number pad and no ASUS Strix Hero III because there's no camera.

I am shying away from used in general, especially from 3rd party sellers I don't recognize.  I am shying away from MSI because of their dual-power and its positioning toward the front - it would have to be significantly better deal than the HP Omen 17 found on Walmart.  I am shying away from ASUS because of my current machine's issues and past customer service experience plus their generally higher prices by ~$250 or more.