News:

Willkommen im Notebookcheck.com Forum! Hier können sie über alle unsere Artikel und allgemein über Notebook relevante Dinge disuktieren. Viel Spass!

Main Menu

System76 CEO blames Ubuntu flip-flopping for shift to Pop!_OS, talks up benefits of in-house OS development

Started by Redaktion, February 08, 2024, 01:25:58

Previous topic - Next topic

Redaktion

In a recent interview, the CEO of System76, the company that makes the Pop!_OS Linux distribution, talks about what prompted the move away from Ubuntu and provides some insights into the end-goal of Pop!_OS.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/System76-CEO-blames-Ubuntu-flip-flopping-for-shift-to-Pop_OS-talks-up-benefits-of-in-house-OS-development.801280.0.html

indy

Finally settled on Ubuntu after trying Windows 11, Mint.

Ubuntu booted the fastest, most reliable, least bloat, and supported Firefox the best. Sticking with it.

Max Steven

Great article thanks for your work!

I'm a professional graphics-oriented Linux user deeply involved in AI, primarily utilizing Nvidia cards. For me, Pop!_OS works better than any other distro I've tried.

Yes, I've experimented with Arch and Arch-based distros, as well as Fedora and Tumbleweed, among others. But, for someone who values stability over the thrill of distro-hopping and needs to rely on their system, Pop!_OS is outstanding.

Additionally, I've experienced zero issues running Steam games.

Leandro

lol, I definitely won't use something that is called pop_os!. System76 ceo can do whatever he wants, who cares?

fgngfnfgn

Quote from: Max Steven on February 08, 2024, 12:22:06Great article thanks for your work!

I'm a professional graphics-oriented Linux user deeply involved in AI, primarily utilizing Nvidia cards. For me, Pop!_OS works better than any other distro I've tried.