News:

Willkommen im Notebookcheck.com Forum! Hier können sie über alle unsere Artikel und allgemein über Notebook relevante Dinge disuktieren. Viel Spass!

Main Menu

Nokia 9 PureView Smartphone Review

Started by Redaktion, April 19, 2019, 21:48:37

Previous topic - Next topic

Redaktion

HMD Global went the extra mile with their brand-new Nokia 9 PureView flagship and equipped it with a total of five lenses for the main camera in order to achieve superior image quality. And it is not just the camera, the rest of the device features even more high-end hardware. Find out in our review whether or not the Nokia 9 PureView lives up to its own expectations.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Nokia-9-PureView-Smartphone-Review.418191.0.html

Hans Nordland

I'm a photographer and have worked with many DSLR and MF camera's. When I read about the Nokia 9 Pureview, I was curious, and, as I needed a new Android phone anyway, ordered it. My wife has a Huawei P20 Pro, the 'dXomark special'. I also had 2 other camera's around, a Canon DSLR 550d, and a Leica S, a medium format. I used all 4 devices in a comparative test, with portraits, landscape, macro - to see if my gamble was worth it, and whether I would be better off returning the Nokia for say a Huawei. My conclusion was, that the Nokia delivered images both more sharp ('clear' would be a better word), and appealing. With portraits, the Nokia rendered skin-tones far more natural and better than the Huawei - almost comparable with the Lecia. Black & White (monochrome) images in RAW are very appealing on the Nokia. Low-light photography is a 'mixed bag': sometimes good, sometimes awful. And true: the Huawei is capable of 40MP RAW; the Nokia only 12. The Huawei P20 (&P30) Pro have far more capabilities. But my (personal) impression is that the Nokia is preferable because it is 'special' (and better) in the limited capabilities that it does offer. So I would like to just add an alternate opinion to the review which is somewhat dis